Finnish Book Foundation

The Finnish Book Foundation was established in 1983 by the Finnish Book Publishers Association and the Ministry of Education, with the purpose of fostering and supporting domestic book and word art.

Literary Prizes awarded by the Finnish Book Foundation


  • Fiction (since 1984)
  • Non-Fiction (since 1989)
  • Juvenile (since 1997)

    The sum awarded for each Finlandia prize is 30,000 euros

Other prizes awarded yearly

The Little-Finlandia Prize for best literary school essay in cooperation with Finnish Language Teachers Union

Eino Leino Prize, awarded in cooperation with the Eino Leino Society

Mikael Agricola Prize, awarded in recognition of distinguished work by a translator, in cooperation with the Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters

Alvar Renqvist Prize, for distinguished work by a publishing editor

Jarl Helleman Prize for best novel translated to Finnish language 


Eteläranta 10, FIN-00130 Helsinki

Secretary General
Sanna-Maaria Tornivaara
Telephone: +358 9 228 77 255, +358 50 533 6233


Publisher Anna-Riikka Carlson
Publishing Director Minna Castrén
Production Manager Päivi Isosaari
Managing Director Mari Koli
Library Services Director Rebekka Pilppula