Finnish Book Foundation

The Finnish Book Foundation was established in 1983 by the Finnish Book Publishers Association and the Ministry of Education, with the purpose of fostering and supporting Finnish literature and reading. The Foundation is best known for its literary awards.

Finlandia Prizes

Finlandia is the most prestigious literary award in Finland. The prize sum is 30 000 euros, awarded annually to an excellent Finnish book in three categories: fiction (novel), non-fiction and children’s or youth literature.

More information about Finlandia Prizes

Other awards by Finnish Book Foundation

Mikael Agricola Prize, awarded in recognition of distinguished work by a translator, in cooperation with the Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters
Jarl Helleman Prize for best novel translated to Finnish
Eino Leino Prize, awarded in cooperation with the Eino Leino Society
Alvar Renqvist Prize, for distinguished work by a publishing editor
Little-Finlandia Prize 
for best literary school essay in cooperation with Finnish Language Teachers Union

More information about the awards in Finnish