Finlandia Prizes

Finlandia Prizes are the most prestigious literature prizes in Finland. They are awarded annually to outstanding Finnish publications in three categories.

Categories and winners

Finlandia prizes are awarded in three categories: fiction (novels), non-fiction, and children’s and youth literature.

The award sum is 30 000 euros.

Winners of Finlandia Prizes

The Finlandia year

All new Finnish book titles are eligible for Finlandia Prizes.

Up to six nominees in each category are picked by expert juries from the titles entered by publishers. The three winners are chosen by electors invited by the Finnish Book Foundation.

The nominees are revealed in early November, and the prizes awarded in late November or early December each year.

More information in Finnish